Ree's Toejam

<previous | 01 March 2003 | next>

meat good ()

Hitler was a vegetarian. I'm trying to not emulate the Nazis, so I'll do unlike them and eat some damn dead animals. There's veggie-Nazi logic for you.

These sites always crack me up. My dad raises beef cattle and my grandmother used to keep chickens for their eggs. Neither kept their animals pen; in fact, those damn chickens had no fences around them at all, and the cattle had 30 acres (head count too varying for me to know, alas). I have NEVER seen anyplace that pins animals the way some vegetarians would have me believe, and in far too many family "vacations" to visit my father's friends, I have seen many many farms.

I have no problem with people around me not wanting to eat meat. Good for you if you have the time and inclination to balance your dietary supplements to counter your lack of a major food type -- and have you ever wondered how much bad shit happens to the environment because of those dietary pills? Just a question. I have no idea. I just know I prefer actual beef to some noxious pithy pills developed out of God Himself only knows what in some lab. That's a unnatural and untasty (unnatural and yummy works -- see my Skittles wrapper for reference).

Honestly, some days I wonder what people are smoking.

The worst part is probably that many teenage girls start go veggo because it's trendy, hoping they'll lose weight, whatever reasons. Hell if I'd know what makes a girl think her food choice must conform, but I actually ate that cafeteria "pizza" in high school so I probably don't count for my current purpose. Now, a still maturing girl needs a balanced diet. Nutrition is particularly important for teens, as their growth spurts hit and *ahem* other physical developments finalize.

This, then, is not a good time for a girl to remove all meat from her diet. Did you know that eating red meat helps reduce appearance of stretch marks? Sweet God, I wish I'd known that when I was in high school. It helps at any age, of course, but had I known that then I'd have fixed myself a burger twice daily, with steaks on the weekends.

Sometimes human weirdness just boggled my mind. Why? Why stop eating meat? It's bad. It hurts animals. Uh-huh. Cars hit random deer, construction workers knock little squirrels' and owls' houses down so they can build human habitation, ants get trodden underfoot -- the list goes on. I don't mean to say stop caring, but please stop spazzing over it!

If there is such a farm as the PETA likes to describe, where the animals never get to move around, their end product must suck! Animals raised for human consumption must have freedom of movement or they won't build enough muscle to taste. That kind of farm should be shut down, and traditional farming would gladly fill the gap in the market. True red-blooded farmers hate those who don't care for their animals. I've said that before, I'm sure. (Yup. So I did.)

Aaaaand my brain is blurring, bleeding into the more concrete realism of needing to drive to my mom's for dinner tonight. Wait. Garth Brooks on my WinAmp. Well. I can stick around here just a bit longer. Love those low places.

Incidentally, I'm looking into moving my blog of random linkies. Probably I'll end up using Blogger (you don't need a link, do you?!), but webspace.... eh, expect me to concoct a weird Blogspot ID for myself. Unlimited ramble space. Whee.


posted by ree at 11:38 A.M.
<previous top add to faves next>

Recently: