Ree's Toejam

<previous | 31 March 2006 | next>

verbiage ()

I have my words back. For a few months now I'd been unable to pound out a journal entry, and now I have a sudden influx of vocabulary. I think I've figured it out: I get my words from others. That's not it exactly. I mean that if I play video games and read books and visit blogs, for some reason my ability to describe my situation deteriorates. When I go with my mother to run errands, or eat dinner with my brother, or spend an hour on the phone with my sister, the words rush into my brain. Sometimes they come in entire paragraphs and other sizable chunks. It's invigorating.

On the other hand, maybe it's just the weather. After a long, bitter winter, South Dakota is thawing and turning subtle shades of green. High fucking time! Spring has sprung and I adore it.

My classes have been keeping me busy. This semester I'm continuing history and have added World Religions, which means 1,000 word essays discussing the role of God in religions that have no God and suchlike. My opinion of the class varies widely, ranging from tedious to inspirational. In particular, Jainism struck a chord in the fiction part of my brain; I think I'll have to devise a character with similar beliefs, if only for the mental exercise. The entire religion is so unlike anything Western that it's become a mind toy for me, a web of thoughts I can prod and trace to my heart's content.

I don't feel like I've said enough today, but that leaves more for me to speak tomorrow or the next day.


posted by ree at 6:43 P.M.
<previous top add to faves next>

Recently: