Ree's Toejam

<previous | 31 December 2003 | next>

modest website plans ()

My brain is fuzzy, although I'm not having any alcohol this fine day. Goddamn. Just -- just goddamn.

Before I forget, hello 2004. Please kick 2003 in the ass on your way in. It would be a most auspicious start to yet another year of suck.

There was something I had in mind. Oh yes. I was going to map out for myself what the hell I'm going to do about my website. If this kind of talk bores you, then don't read this entry. I'm trying to be witty and bright, but that shit don't come easy. I aspire to be a BeerMate someday, but I'm aware I don't quite reach the standard. Sigh.

The immortal advice to a wannabe writer is (and always has been and always will be) "Apply ass to chair and fuckin' write," or words to that effect. If that will help me a better writer, than dammit, I might as well sit here and try to string some words into a nifty bit of tripe or something.

Website. Right. Angelfire is borked beyond my tolerance. I was thinking TopCities -- they don't appear to have the Pop-ups of Doom. I have been telling people lately that even mighty Cthulhu fears the suck of pop-ups. They blow and I want them the hell off my site. Banner ads, even those damn annoying ones with exploding hamsters, are -- I was going to say "okay", but they're not. Ads suck. Banners just suck less. They're tolerable and a welcome alternative to forking over money I don't have.

My CJB.net redirect has a pop-up, but that's getting fixed. I need to sort out my end-of-year expenses (and some impending bills) before I throw money at CJB, but once that happens, my pseudo-domain will be pop-up free. Woot.

My brain is getting fuzzy again. Okay.

    Making Ree's website suck less
  • Contact free hostee of TopCities to inquire about service and limitations
  • If TopCities is low on sucking, move bulk of site there
  • Buy ad off CJB redirection
  • When PHP is desired, test pages on IP address version of Avedov

I think that does it. *checks* There's more, involving various weblog systems, RSS feeds, and major techie-ness, but that's boring. It's also largely up in the air at this point, so there's not much point in jabbering about it until I get some key points pinned down.

I think I figured out how to make my freebie RSS feed for DiaryLand not suck too. I need to implement that change before I post this. Then I have to ping the NotifyList independently of DiaryLand's system. Goddess, I need a real journalling system, something that isn't stuck back in 1999! I love DiaryLand. It has some very nice features that I cherish. It lacks some very handy modern bits, though.

If I ever should move off DiaryLand, rest assured I'd rig some way of getting my entries to show up on my Dland index. It wouldn't show me as recently updated in buddylists, unfortunately. There's no perfect fix. Such is life.

I think I have a decent handle on making it good enough to keep, though.


posted by ree at 2:23 P.M.
<previous top add to faves next>

Recently: