Ree's Toejam

<previous | 10 June 2003 | next>

Jemimah's Witnesses ()

Heh. I'm watching Adult Swim. Usually I ignore "Family Guy", but I broke a rib laughing at their opening tonight. There was a bit about how messed-up the Brady Bunch was, and . . . well, here. Have the quotage from the IMDb listing for the show:

Peter Griffin: Well, they live in a crummy neighborhood.

Brian Griffin: The Bradys?

Peter Griffin: Oh, hell yeah. They got robbers, thugs, drug dealers ah, you name it.

[Aunt Jemimah pops up in the window with a plate of pancakes]

Aunt Jemimah: You folks want some pancakes?

Peter Griffin: No thank you. See, that's the worse we got is, uh Jemimah's Witnesses.

That of course immediately reminded me of something I've had sitting in my email for a year and half. I always meant to comment on it, but never got around to it. Now I find the original post is gone. Feh.

From my email archive, then, I present a quick post from Sadzi, on Jan. 31, 2003.

My old pal Stjnky has been pondering God lately. He's posted some downright interesting stuff. From that blog, though, I'd like to pull a comment by HomerTheBrave out of context, just cuz it made me giggle. He was discussing the idea of making God whatever you need God to be, since none of us is really 100% sure of the nature of God.

Repeat after me: "God is an a large black woman. God is Aunt Jemimah. God's love covers the world like syrup covers a pancake."

I just love that imagery.

Me too. You can find Stjnky's musing on the nature and plausible existence of God over here, at least until Xanga reprograms something. If that happens, use the posting calender on the lefthand sidebar to find what I'm talking about -- and definitely check the comments while you're there.


posted by ree at 10:32 P.M.
<previous top add to faves next>

Recently: