Ree's Toejam

<previous | 07 September 2003 | next>

bad ISP, bad! ()

9:57 AM 9/7/2003

I'm writing this offline because I have to do SOMETHING. I was happily IMing Skerv and wandering chat-related webpages when my entire connection went FZZT. I'm apparently sending and receiving packets on the LAN, but nothing's coming up. Grr. I bet Sin kicked the fucking outlet and unplugged the router. Fuckity fuck fuck fucks.

I fell asleep last night with my little brother visiting. He'd said he would probably spend the night, and I'd have to wake him in time for him to get back to church with mom this morning. So I went downstairs to see which couch he fell asleep on and he's gone, car and all. He just left without even saying goodbye or leaving or note or anything. That hurts.

And I can't be online even though I just was, and have been spending the last half-hour (more, really) trying to reconnect, without success, because it's nothing wrong with my computer but someplace else. Nobody else is awake for me to ask them if the other computers are offline too. I'm sure it's not just mine. Grr.

Mom has sent a fair sum of money with Squirt so that I could buy groceries. She seemed particularly worried on the phone yesterday that I hadn'thad any milk for several days. Apparently, even though I'm 22, I should be worried about my calcium intake and preventing osteoporosis. Um. Well, thanks, mom. Except he didn't leave the money that I can find. So I have no breakfast. I'm talking I have water here. Water and Wheat-thins. Woop de shit. Make me care, I dare you.

And I can't pay my rent unless she put more money in my checking account, and I can't check my balance online when the internet is down. I can't even call her and talk to her or the kid, because they're at church.

I am fucking alone.

I'm going to go read Philemon because it's nifty. Yeah. It's fun to read the Apostle Paul bustin' out all his persuasive manuvers. (And I can't check my spelling on Dictionary.com without working Net, either. *swears more*) Anyway. Philemon. Check it out, and enjoy your Net connection for me.

10:57 AM 9/7/2003

It's not the router. Our cable TV is out along with our cable modem. That's why I could still send and receive packets -- the LAN is up, but the cable modem being down still keeps me offline. Naturally.

Sin explained (bad typo, although "sexplained" often suits Sin to a T!) that Squirt left almost right after I went to bed last night. Sin had a project in trying to get Squirt to open op his personal space, get to know people, etc -- and because this is Sin, sex is always on the edges of everything. Sex also makes Squirt VERY uncomfortable, especially guy/guy sex. Obviously this makes him even more nervous and self-contained, which makes my big gay roommate all the more intense about getting Squirt to open up. Anyway, as soon as Squirt realized I wasn't awake to "protect" him, and he couldn't escape by hiding in my room as I was already in my room, he promptly took off.

Squirt also left without giving me the money Mom had given him to pass on to me, but as I told Matt, I didn't even notice that for hours after I woke up this morning. The part that hurts is that he didn't leave a note -- didn't even leave me a message on my voicemail saying sorry for leaving without saying bye. To be fair, it's entirely possible that he emailed me after he got home; I didn't get it checked today. I meant to check it after Skerv and I had quit talking, but my ISP cut out before either of us had to leave AIM.

OMG, it's back! *runs to post*


posted by ree at 11:05 A.M.
<previous top add to faves next>

Recently: